Tuesday, August 19, 2014 / by Carlos J Higareda
Indianapolis Passes New Landlord Registration Requirements
Beginning January 1, 2015, anyone who rents one or more properties in Marion County will have to first register with the City of Indianapolis. In order to rent property, landlords must provide owner name, address, and phone number, and pay a $5 annual fee. Multiple properties may be registered for a $5 if they are registered at the same time. Landlords must also affirm that they do not have unpaid taxes or un-remediated code violations. Details on how to register will be made available later. Failure to register may result in a $500 fine.